blogging Phillies baseball and the home of Phillies Talk Podcast by Rich Baxter
blogging Phillies baseball and the home of Phillies Talk Podcast by Rich Baxter

The anatomy of a losing streak


Embed from Getty Imageswindow.gie=window.gie||function(c){(gie.q=gie.q||[]).push(c)};gie(function(){gie.widgets.load({id:’7p0KbrNTRA5yXaPBe_U-Fw’,sig:’7Q9XvrDyRh30UKkzRfd8Hyd_hAQ1FTJFwdbA7_BGJhs=’,w:’594px’,h:’396px’,items:’1151498622′,caption: true ,tld:’com’,is360: false })});
Gabe Kapler loses his temper yesterday and gets tossed out of the game for the first time ever

When things don’t go right in baseball, it can seem like nothing is going right. That is the state of the Phillies right now. In the mire of a 6-game losing streak, two to the Miami Marlins at home most recently. You wonder what will happen to make this all change.

When pitching doesn’t do well, the bats can’t overcome what happens, and when the bats go silent it’s not easy to overcome that. So what is wrong with this Phillies team?

Embed from Getty Imageswindow.gie=window.gie||function(c){(gie.q=gie.q||[]).push(c)};gie(function(){gie.widgets.load({id:’eGKkj2SiQBhTcJ1NSel8qg’,sig:’C6Yi0_NE7-9P3YlLVO53lEUGf9MEli0t_t6ED-buIUQ=’,w:’594px’,h:’396px’,items:’1151494252′,caption: true ,tld:’com’,is360: false })});
Back to back with Bryce Harper yesterday

Bryce Harper and Rhys Hoskins went back-to-back yesterday for the first time of the season. Phillies fans have been waiting to see this, and a couple months into the season plus, it finally happened yesterday afternoon at Citizens Bank Park.

The Phils have lost 6 games in a row. It’s been hard to take for fans that have expected a lot more than the have been doing lately. What is the cause for all of this?

Let’s look at some positives: JT Realmuto as of yesterday is the first Phillies catcher with 23 caught stealings before July since 2012 when Carlos Ruiz had 24. Scott Kingery brought his .650 slugging percentage into yesterday’s game, he sits 6th on the top 10 just behind Christian Yelich who leads the MLB, then Bellinger, Blackmon, Trout, and Gallo. That’s what kind of good hitting Kingery has been doing lately.

The Phillies can just get back on the field today and get a much needed win and build from there. A loss will only deepen the problem with this team. We need a win, and we need it bad.

The Phillies June Swoon so far:

Team Game-by-Game Schedule

Gm# Date Tm Opp W/L R RA
58 Saturday, Jun 1 boxscore PHI @ LAD L-wo 3 4
59 Sunday, Jun 2 boxscore PHI @ LAD L 0 8
60 Monday, Jun 3 boxscore PHI @ SDP L 2 8
61 Tuesday, Jun 4 boxscore PHI @ SDP W 9 6
62 Wednesday, Jun 5 boxscore PHI @ SDP W 7 5
63 Friday, Jun 7 boxscore PHI CIN W 4 2
64 Saturday, Jun 8 boxscore PHI CIN W 4 1
65 Sunday, Jun 9 boxscore PHI CIN L 3 4
66 Monday, Jun 10 boxscore PHI ARI L 8 13
67 Tuesday, Jun 11 boxscore PHI ARI W 7 4
68 Wednesday, Jun 12 boxscore PHI ARI L 0 2
69 Friday, Jun 14 boxscore PHI @ ATL L-wo 8 9
70 Saturday, Jun 15 boxscore PHI @ ATL W 6 5
71 Sunday, Jun 16 boxscore PHI @ ATL L 1 15
72 Wednesday, Jun 19 (1) boxscore PHI @ WSN L 2 6
73 Wednesday, Jun 19 (2) boxscore PHI @ WSN L 0 2
74 Thursday, Jun 20 boxscore PHI @ WSN L 4 7
75 Friday, Jun 21 boxscore PHI MIA L 1 2
76 Saturday, Jun 22 boxscore PHI MIA L 3 5
77 Sunday, Jun 23 preview PHI MIA 1:05 1:05 1:05
78 Monday, Jun 24 preview PHI NYM 7:05 7:05 7:05
79 Tuesday, Jun 25 preview PHI NYM 7:05 7:05 7:05
80 Wednesday, Jun 26 preview PHI NYM 7:05 7:05 7:05
81 Thursday, Jun 27 preview PHI NYM 1:05 1:05 1:05
82 Friday, Jun 28 preview PHI @ MIA 7:10 7:10 7:10
83 Saturday, Jun 29 preview PHI @ MIA 4:10 4:10 4:10
84 Sunday, Jun 30 preview PHI @ MIA 1:10 1:10 1:10
85 Tuesday, Jul 2 preview PHI @ ATL 7:20 7:20 7:20
86 Wednesday, Jul 3 preview PHI @ ATL 7:20 7:20 7:20
87 Thursday, Jul 4 preview PHI @ ATL 7:20 7:20 7:20
88 Friday, Jul 5 preview PHI @ NYM 7:10 7:10 7:10
89 Saturday, Jul 6 preview PHI @ NYM 7:15 7:15 7:15
90 Sunday, Jul 7 preview PHI @ NYM 1:10 1:10 1:10
91 Friday, Jul 12 preview PHI WSN 6:05 6:05 6:05
92 Saturday, Jul 13 preview PHI WSN 7:15 7:15 7:15
93 Sunday, Jul 14 preview PHI WSN 1:05 1:05 1:05
94 Monday, Jul 15 preview PHI LAD 7:05 7:05 7:05
95 Tuesday, Jul 16 preview PHI LAD 7:05 7:05 7:05
96 Wednesday, Jul 17 preview PHI LAD 7:05 7:05 7:05
97 Thursday, Jul 18 preview PHI LAD 12:3 12:3 12:3
98 Friday, Jul 19 preview PHI @ PIT 7:05 7:05 7:05
99 Saturday, Jul 20 preview PHI @ PIT 7:05 7:05 7:05
Gm# Date Tm Opp
100 Sunday, Jul 21 preview PHI @ PIT 1:35 1:35 1:35
101 Tuesday, Jul 23 preview PHI @ DET 7:10 7:10 7:10
102 Wednesday, Jul 24 preview PHI @ DET 1:10 1:10 1:10
103 Friday, Jul 26 preview PHI ATL 7:05 7:05 7:05
104 Saturday, Jul 27 preview PHI ATL 7:05 7:05 7:05
105 Sunday, Jul 28 preview PHI ATL 1:05 1:05 1:05
106 Tuesday, Jul 30 preview PHI SFG 7:05 7:05 7:05
107 Wednesday, Jul 31 preview PHI SFG 7:05 7:05 7:05
108 Thursday, Aug 1 preview PHI SFG 1:05 1:05 1:05
109 Friday, Aug 2 preview PHI CHW 7:05 7:05 7:05
110 Saturday, Aug 3 preview PHI CHW 7:05 7:05 7:05
111 Sunday, Aug 4 preview PHI CHW 1:05 1:05 1:05
112 Monday, Aug 5 preview PHI @ ARI 9:40 9:40 9:40
113 Tuesday, Aug 6 preview PHI @ ARI 9:40 9:40 9:40
114 Wednesday, Aug 7 preview PHI @ ARI 9:40 9:40 9:40
115 Thursday, Aug 8 preview PHI @ SFG 9:45 9:45 9:45
116 Friday, Aug 9 preview PHI @ SFG 10:1 10:1 10:1
117 Saturday, Aug 10 preview PHI @ SFG 4:05 4:05 4:05
118 Sunday, Aug 11 preview PHI @ SFG 4:05 4:05 4:05
119 Tuesday, Aug 13 preview PHI CHC 7:05 7:05 7:05
120 Wednesday, Aug 14 preview PHI CHC 7:05 7:05 7:05
121 Thursday, Aug 15 preview PHI CHC 7:05 7:05 7:05
122 Friday, Aug 16 preview PHI SDP 7:05 7:05 7:05
123 Saturday, Aug 17 preview PHI SDP 7:05 7:05 7:05
124 Sunday, Aug 18 preview PHI SDP 1:05 1:05 1:05
125 Tuesday, Aug 20 preview PHI @ BOS 7:10 7:10 7:10
126 Wednesday, Aug 21 preview PHI @ BOS 7:10 7:10 7:10
127 Friday, Aug 23 preview PHI @ MIA 7:10 7:10 7:10
128 Saturday, Aug 24 preview PHI @ MIA 6:10 6:10 6:10
129 Sunday, Aug 25 preview PHI @ MIA 1:10 1:10 1:10
130 Monday, Aug 26 preview PHI PIT 7:05 7:05 7:05
131 Tuesday, Aug 27 preview PHI PIT 7:05 7:05 7:05
132 Wednesday, Aug 28 preview PHI PIT 6:05 6:05 6:05
133 Friday, Aug 30 preview PHI NYM 7:05 7:05 7:05
134 Saturday, Aug 31 preview PHI NYM 4:05 4:05 4:05
135 Sunday, Sep 1 preview PHI NYM 7:05 7:05 7:05
136 Monday, Sep 2 preview PHI @ CIN 2:10 2:10 2:10
137 Tuesday, Sep 3 preview PHI @ CIN 6:40 6:40 6:40
138 Wednesday, Sep 4 preview PHI @ CIN 6:40 6:40 6:40
139 Thursday, Sep 5 preview PHI @ CIN 12:3 12:3 12:3
140 Friday, Sep 6 preview PHI @ NYM 7:10 7:10 7:10
141 Saturday, Sep 7 preview PHI @ NYM 7:10 7:10 7:10
142 Sunday, Sep 8 preview PHI @ NYM 1:10 1:10 1:10
143 Monday, Sep 9 preview PHI ATL 7:05 7:05 7:05
144 Tuesday, Sep 10 preview PHI ATL 7:05 7:05 7:05
145 Wednesday, Sep 11 preview PHI ATL 7:05 7:05 7:05
146 Thursday, Sep 12 preview PHI ATL 7:05 7:05 7:05
147 Saturday, Sep 14 preview PHI BOS 7:05 7:05 7:05
148 Sunday, Sep 15 preview PHI BOS 1:05 1:05 1:05
149 Tuesday, Sep 17 preview PHI @ ATL 7:20 7:20 7:20
Gm# Date Tm Opp
150 Wednesday, Sep 18 preview PHI @ ATL 7:20 7:20 7:20
151 Thursday, Sep 19 preview PHI @ ATL 12:1 12:1 12:1
152 Friday, Sep 20 preview PHI @ CLE 7:10 7:10 7:10
153 Saturday, Sep 21 preview PHI @ CLE 7:10 7:10 7:10
154 Sunday, Sep 22 preview PHI @ CLE 1:10 1:10 1:10
155 Monday, Sep 23 preview PHI @ WSN 7:05 7:05 7:05
156 Tuesday, Sep 24 preview PHI @ WSN 1:05 1:05 1:05
157 Tuesday, Sep 24 preview PHI @ WSN 7:05 7:05 7:05
158 Wednesday, Sep 25 preview PHI @ WSN 7:05 7:05 7:05
159 Thursday, Sep 26 preview PHI @ WSN 4:05 4:05 4:05
160 Friday, Sep 27 preview PHI MIA 7:05 7:05 7:05
161 Saturday, Sep 28 preview PHI MIA 6:05 6:05 6:05
162 Sunday, Sep 29 preview PHI MIA 3:05 3:05 3:05
Gm# Date Tm Opp
Provided by Baseball-Reference.com: View Original Table
Generated 6/23/2019.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *