blogging Phillies baseball and the home of Phillies Talk Podcast by Rich Baxter
blogging Phillies baseball and the home of Phillies Talk Podcast by Rich Baxter

Phils and Marlins will battle it out for worst team in baseball in Miami

It’s Memorial Day in America, god bless all the troops that gave their lives for our freedom. Sometimes we take for our freedom for granted, that it will always be there. It’s always been there because of the hard work of our soldiers.

The Phillies took off on a road trip after dropping 2 of 3 games to the Reds and now find themselves in the sunny confines of Miami for what will be a battle for last place in the whole MLB.

The Phillies haven’t been doing too well lately, that is plain to see. Mentioning them in the same breath with the ‘worst team in baseball’ is yet another thing. The Phillies have seldom trolled the bottom of the MLB, that’s a whole 30 teams. But, that is exactly where they are.

Now, starting pitching has deserted this team. Zack Eflin has a 6.13 ERA and is 0-3 with the loss against the Reds on Sunday. After the game he was sent down to AAA.

 Today’s starter for the Phillies, Jeremy Hellickson, started off great for the Phils 4-0 in April but he has cooled off and has won 1 game in May, while having a 7.30 ERA in May. Hellickson had looked like he may be off to a 20-win year for a couple weeks. His ERA has been rising steadily though since Opening Day.

Hellickson’s starts so far in 2017:

2017 Pitching Gamelog

Rk Date Tm Opp Rslt Inngs Dec IP ERA
1 Apr 3 PHI @ CIN W,4-3 GS-6 W(1-0) 5.0 1.80
2 Apr 9 PHI WSN W,4-3 GS-5 5.0 0.90
3 Apr 15 PHI @ WSN W,4-2 GS-7 W(2-0) 7.0 1.59
4 Apr 21 PHI ATL W,4-3 GS-7 W(3-0) 7.0 1.88
5 Apr 27 PHI MIA W,3-2 GS-6 W(4-0) 6.0 1.80
May May Tm Opp Rslt Inngs Dec IP ERA
6 May 2 PHI @ CHC L,3-8 GS-4 L(4-1) 4.0 3.18
7 May 7 PHI WSN W,6-5 GS-5 4.2 3.49
8 May 14(1) PHI @ WSN W,4-3 GS-5 5.0 3.71
9 May 19 PHI @ PIT W,7-2 GS-6 W(5-1) 6.0 3.44
10 May 24 PHI COL L,2-7 GS-5 L(5-2) 5.0 4.28
PHI 8-2 W-L:5-2 54.2 4.28
Provided by Baseball-Reference.com: View Original Table
Generated 5/29/2017.

Miami has been in a team in the same boat as the Phillies. They’ve been going on extended 5-game losing streaks in the past few weeks, they did manage to take 2 out of 3 from the Angels in their last series though. They are 18-30 on the year so far.

At 17-31, the Phillies now have the dubious title of the worst team in baseball, can they battle it out and give this title to the Marlins?

How the Phils got to be the worst team in baseball? – It seemed to happen too fast for this team, they reeled off a six-game winning streak towards late April, left for a West Coast road trip, and the slide started there:

Team Game-by-Game Schedule

Gm# Date Tm Opp W/L Attendance
1 Monday, Apr 3 boxscore PHI @ CIN W 43,804
2 Wednesday, Apr 5 boxscore PHI @ CIN L 19,944
3 Thursday, Apr 6 boxscore PHI @ CIN L 10,586
4 Friday, Apr 7 boxscore PHI WSN L 45,121
5 Saturday, Apr 8 boxscore PHI WSN W 37,241
6 Sunday, Apr 9 boxscore PHI WSN W-wo 36,917
7 Monday, Apr 10 boxscore PHI NYM L 33,359
8 Tuesday, Apr 11 boxscore PHI NYM L 28,659
9 Wednesday, Apr 12 boxscore PHI NYM L 28,272
10 Friday, Apr 14 boxscore PHI @ WSN L-wo 38,664
11 Saturday, Apr 15 boxscore PHI @ WSN W 35,626
12 Sunday, Apr 16 boxscore PHI @ WSN L-wo 29,774
13 Tuesday, Apr 18 boxscore PHI @ NYM W 23,536
14 Wednesday, Apr 19 boxscore PHI @ NYM L 22,243
15 Thursday, Apr 20 boxscore PHI @ NYM W 24,656
16 Friday, Apr 21 boxscore PHI ATL W 24,189
17 Saturday, Apr 22 boxscore PHI ATL W-wo 31,334
18 Sunday, Apr 23 boxscore PHI ATL W 28,632
19 Wednesday, Apr 26 boxscore PHI MIA W 26,191
20 Thursday, Apr 27 boxscore PHI MIA W 22,180
21 Friday, Apr 28 boxscore PHI @ LAD L 46,729
22 Saturday, Apr 29 boxscore PHI @ LAD L-wo 53,110
23 Sunday, Apr 30 boxscore PHI @ LAD L 48,961
24 Monday, May 1 boxscore PHI @ CHC W 38,567
25 Tuesday, May 2 boxscore PHI @ CHC L 38,660
26 Wednesday, May 3 boxscore PHI @ CHC L 39,335
27 Thursday, May 4 boxscore PHI @ CHC L-wo 36,394
28 Friday, May 5 boxscore PHI WSN L 20,237
29 Saturday, May 6 boxscore PHI WSN L 21,298
30 Sunday, May 7 boxscore PHI WSN W-wo 30,464
31 Tuesday, May 9 boxscore PHI SEA L 31,715
32 Wednesday, May 10 boxscore PHI SEA L 26,697
33 Saturday, May 13 boxscore PHI @ WSN L-wo 31,473
34 Sunday, May 14 (1) boxscore PHI @ WSN W 31,738
35 Sunday, May 14 (2) boxscore PHI @ WSN L 30,137
36 Tuesday, May 16 boxscore PHI @ TEX L 23,110
37 Wednesday, May 17 boxscore PHI @ TEX L 28,703
38 Thursday, May 18 boxscore PHI @ TEX L 35,007
39 Friday, May 19 boxscore PHI @ PIT W 25,795
40 Saturday, May 20 boxscore PHI @ PIT L 32,572
41 Sunday, May 21 boxscore PHI @ PIT L 24,445
42 Monday, May 22 boxscore PHI COL L 21,251
43 Tuesday, May 23 boxscore PHI COL L 17,109
44 Wednesday, May 24 boxscore PHI COL L 19,160
45 Thursday, May 25 boxscore PHI COL W-wo 18,143
46 Friday, May 26 boxscore PHI CIN L 21,388
47 Saturday, May 27 boxscore PHI CIN W-wo 30,100
48 Sunday, May 28 boxscore PHI CIN L 25,413
49 Monday, May 29 preview PHI @ MIA 7:10 Game
Gm# Date Tm Opp
50 Tuesday, May 30 preview PHI @ MIA 7:10 Game
51 Wednesday, May 31 preview PHI @ MIA 1:10 Game
52 Friday, Jun 2 preview PHI SFG 7:05 Game
53 Saturday, Jun 3 preview PHI SFG 4:05 Game
54 Sunday, Jun 4 preview PHI SFG 1:35 Game
Provided by Baseball-Reference.com: View Original Table
Generated 5/29/2017.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *